Good dubs? (yes they exist)

Ok so time to get back on track and start being active again.

Now this topic will probably get some hate but we’ll see how it goes 😛

So before you start going all

Let’s just have a civil discussion. Shall we?

Now anime fans could probably be split into 3 main factions let’s call them. The first being the purists who could only watch subbed stating that watching in any other language is an insult to the show. The second faction being the one where you only watched dubbed because you wouldn’t enjoy watching something in a foreign language and having to constantly read subtitles the whole time. Lastly, there are those who actually don’t mind either.

Now of course everyone is entitled to their opinion, so i’ll go ahead and state mine. HOWEVER, before anything, I have to say we are only discussing the language of the anime. We are not putting alterations done by dubbing companies on the table (especially not 4kids versions of anime)

and that is due to it not being as relevant. Of course you’d want to see the original scene over a modified one.

Now that we have put that out of the way, what are some issues with dubbing in general. I believe one issue is the fact that the lip flaps of characters don’t really sync up with the words you hear in dubs. You may be one of those people who simply can’t ignore something like that once you notice it and frankly, I can’t blame you.

Another issue, which i believe to be a major contributor, is that a watcher might feel the voice actor cast for the dub might not really portray a character’s personality well enough or  maybe just that the voice didn’t really suit him/her in general.

So yes, there exist some sub par dubs. BUT just as well, there are some dubs which are well cast and give you the feeling the voice actors gave their heart and soul in portraying the character.

SO without further ado, here’s my list for some really great dubbed anime (at least for me). Keep in mind this isn’t all the good dubbed anime, just ones that I happened to enjoy a lot.

So what dubbed anime did you enjoy? Did you have a different opinion on dubbed anime?

Lemme know in the comments below.

Thanks for reading and as always have an awesome day!

 

5 thoughts on “Good dubs? (yes they exist)

  1. While I’m mostly a sub watcher there are a few anime I enjoy more in the dubbed form. Steins;Gate was one of these. There’s just so much fast dialogue that unless you want to spend the whole time reading, the English dub is easier and the voices actually work pretty well.
    Generally if I’m watching anime by myself I watch the sub. It’s how I usually watch, I’m more familiar with the voices, and I generally think the original voices are the way it should sound. However, most people I know who I can convince to watch anime, won’t watch subs so I watch a lot of dubbed anime and dubs have gotten significantly better since the 90’s and are sometimes very well done.
    Still, this one is always going to be a personl preference thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kirosanchi says:

      Thanks for the reply. And yes i do agree it’s gonna always be a preference thing but just felt like saying that not all dubs sound wrong even though they aren’t the original voices.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I watch a lot of subs, but this is mainly because I tend to watch the new seasons as they release. However there are a bunch of good dubs. FMA Botherhood, Soul Eater, Ouran High School Host Club, and Clannad are all good and there are many more that are worth viewing. Sgt Frog works better as a dub since the original dialog was so referential to Japanese pop culture that it wouldn’t have worked as well as the Funimation rewrite which is absolutely hilarious at times.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dominic Cuthbert says:

    I’m between the two extremes and while my default is to watch anime in its original Japanese, I do like to switch between dubs to experience both. I struggle to think of an English dub I prefer as a whole, but there are some characters whom I prefer in the English. Naruto in the English dub, for example, is far better than the Japanese counterpart, managing to better reflect the character.

    I think Japanese actors are just willing to be more introspective and act without inhibition which makes for altogether more compelling and emotionally satisfying performances.

    Cowboy Bebop is a pretty good example – Steve Blum is brilliant! Vic Mignogna really aggravates me, so I struggle with the FMA dub, though there are some good performances throughout.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment